Back to the Blender

Last Wednesday, I squeezed in a quick gym workout after work, knowing that I only had about 30 minutes and would have to get right to church for a handbell rehearsal afterwards. Knowing that I wouldn’t be able to wait until I got home to eat (even pre-pregnancy Katie could not have waited that long!), I ordered my first-every gym-café protein shake.

Oh. My. Yumminess. It was INCREDIBLE!

I ordered their Peanut Butter Chip, which included PB2, chocolate chips, and protein powder (plus, I asked for a handful of spinach) all for 270 cal and 31g of protein. I don’t know if they just buy better protein than I do, or what, but it was so freakin’ good.

Ever since then, I’ve been back on the protein shake bandwagon. They’re just such a good way to get in your protein, freggies, and even dairy (if you’re a dairy person). I decided to spend a little time re-visiting some of my favorite protein shake concoctions, and scrounging up some new ones to try in the coming days:

Old Favorites

  • Basic Green Smoothie: 1 banana, 1 apple, 1 handful spinach, vanilla protein powder, 1 C milk or water
  • Blueberry Muffin: vanilla protein powder, 1/2 C frozen blueberries, 1/2 C Greek yogurt, 1 C milk, splash of vanilla (I sometimes use 1 Tbsp FF/SF vanilla pudding mix instead)
  • Raspberry Truffle: chocolate protein powder, 1 frozen banana, 1/2 C frozen raspberries, 1/3 C Greek yogurt, 1 C milk
Blueberry Muffin Shake

Blueberry Muffin Shake – please excuse this terrible-quality, old picture!!

Raspberry Truffle Shake + Spinach (see the nasty color?)

Raspberry Truffle Shake + Spinach (see the nasty color?)

New Ones to Try

Tips for a Delicious Shake

  • I use ice cubes to thicken mine up. At the end of blending, I just throw in a handful and turn it up to high speed.
  • You can use whatever milk you like. My favorite is unsweetened vanilla almond milk–more calcium, less calories, and healthy fats.
  • Spinach can be added to any shake without changing the flavor (even chocolate-y ones). It might make the color look a little unappealing, but I promise, it will taste the same and add lots of nutrients to boot!

Now I want to hear from you–what is your go-to protein shake recipe?

4 thoughts on “Back to the Blender

  1. My go to is almond milk, chocolate protein powder and a frozen banana… Lately I’ve added in some spinach and if it’s post workout sometimes I’ll add in a spoon of Nutella.

  2. I have gone easy-peasy these days. My staple is 8 oz skim milk, 8 oz Naked something (for easy fruit), 1 Tbsp whey protein (vanilla flavored), 1 Tbsp choc drink mix, 1 Tbsp ground flax. Shake in 20 oz old Gatorade bottle. (I make four of these on the weekend, then freeze or refrigerate for later.) I eat a banana with this… I used to blend it in. And I also make chocolate covered pretzels. One square of dark, dark chocolate between two mini-pretzels. Bake on aluminum foil at about 250 for 5-10 minutes, squish, refrigerate. The chocolate keeps the pretzels from breaking up in the zippy bag I keep in my backpack.

    It seems like a lot of work when I write it all down, but it’s become kind of a ritual for me.

    • Simple is good for me right now! I’ve always wondered about pre-making smoothies. I wonder if I froze one then brought it to work and put it in the fridge if it would thaw enough by lunchtime…

What do you think?

