Catching Up

Well, hello, blog readers! Guess what, I didn’t completely forget about you. However, I have realized something: building a human is HARD WORK. I spend most of my free time napping or crashing in front of the TV these days, and although it doesn’t seem like typing up a blog post every now and then should be too exhausting… I just haven’t felt like it. But, one of the nice things about casual blogging is that I can pick it up again whenever I feel like it. So, here’s a quick update on what’s going on in my life:

Pregnancy

Week 14 (March 9th, I believe?!)

Week 14 (March 9th, I believe?!)

Week 17 (two weeks ago!)

Week 17 (two weeks ago!)

Yes, it’s true. My belly has POPPED. I’ve had people ask me if I’m 7 months pregnant, and also if it’s twins. (Isn’t it funny how some people still don’t know how to keep their mouth shut and give socially-acceptable comments? Geesh.)

Honestly, though, I LOVE IT! I have been flaunting my bump. Dresses and skirts are most comfortable these days, and I’m officially wearing only maternity pants. I cleaned out my closet of anything that doesn’t fit me right now, and… it’s pretty bare bones. I’m still wearing pre-pregnancy shirts, but only the roomier ones. And I invested in some larger tank tops from the “regular” department, because the maternity tanks were just too cutesy for me (I may be about to be a mom, but I don’t need polka dots and anchors on everything, Old Navy…). I also hit up a consignment shop and found some CUTE stuff for super cheap.

I also had to break down and buy Baby Hearn’s first onesie. I love the adorable Paddington Bear line that Gap had this winter. And this cute little gender-neutral option was on clearance!

If you can't read the tag it says "Please look after this bear." SO CUTE!

If you can’t read the tag it says “Please look after this bear.” SO CUTE!

Workouts

CrossFit Open WOD 14.5 Preggo-Style

CrossFit Open WOD 14.5 Preggo-Style

I’ve still been CrossFitting 1-2 times/week (I look at the workout ahead of time, and if it’s sprinting or agility, I usually just do my own thing–nothing about me is speedy or agile these days). I shoot for 3 strength training sessions a week, and have still been using the Hard Body Workouts or variations of my old interval training plans. I’ve learned that running during pregnancy is just not for me. For one thing, it’s hard to keep my heart rate low enough. And for a second thing, it just makes me have to pee.

At this point, I am modifying all exercises on my back (either moving to an inclined postion, or substituting a different exercise altogether). Last week at CrossFit, I learned that I’m no longer physically capable of doing pull-ups. I tried! But since I can no longer engage my ab muscles (at least, not like I used to), I just couldn’t pull myself up to that bar without really straining (even with much more assistance than I normally use). So, I’m substituting ring rows for pull-ups. (CrossfitMom still serves as an AWESOME resource for expected mommies who want to keep strength training.)

My overall pregnancy fitness philosophy is to do what I can, when I can. If I get to the gym and get my body in motion, I call it a success.

Food

Oh man, have I been hungry. One minute I still feel full from my last meal, and the next second I am starving. Like… will-eat-the-next-edible-object-that-crosses-my-path starving. Like… gave-in-to-cheddary-Bugles-last-week-because-they-were-the-only-thing-available-to-me starving. Like… I-eat-three-snacks-between-breakfast-and-lunch starving.

All of my aversions from the first trimester have completely dissipated, which means I’m able to fulfill these hunger pains with healthier notions. (Notice I said I’m able to, not that I always do… hello, Trader Joe’s Cookie Butter!) At my last doctor’s appointment, I’d gained four pounds since the start of my pregnancy. I’m expecting it to be higher at my next appointment (duh!), but I think I’m still gaining a healthy amount.

Life

Life-wise, things have been a little hectic lately. In March, B and I barely saw each other for two weeks. I went to Jackon, MS over spring break to visit my cousin, and literally passed B driving home from the airport as he was headed for a flight to Monterey, CA for a business trip for five days. He returned, we saw each other for one day, then I jetted off to Chicago for the weekend for a friend’s bachelorette party. Then, he had a crazy week of business conferences (in town, but still busy). Finally, we’re both home–for now.

(And here’s a photo dump from Chicago. Notice that the first picture is of food. This is the life of a pregnant woman. Ready, GO!)

donuts Chicago Chase Bank Shamrock Shuffle City at night Katie Kelly Mollie sunglasses City

We are both in a wedding at the end of the month, have another wedding to attend this weekend, and the weekend in between is Easter–which will include our gender reveal (!!!!!!) with our families.

Work-wise, it’s testing season… and the testing systems are barely-functioning. Which means that patience and flexibility is the name of the game these days. (That’s tough for my fourth-graders who are so routine driven. I’m not sure how many more times I can get them geared up to “Do their best on the test!”… and then have them all get an error message and have to reschedule the testing session.)

In the midst of all that chaos, we had carpet installed in the nursery, so we also had to find some time last weekend to paint the room.Sadly, B’s good friend passed away in a car accident recently. So, this is an unexpected half day off work for me, as we prepare for the funeral later this morning. (Prayers for the family in the midst of their grief, please. It is shocking to have lost a young life so abruptly.)

Sadly, B’s good friend passed away in a car accident recently. So, this is an unexpected half day off work for me, as we prepare for the funeral later this morning. (Prayers for the family in the midst of their grief, please. It is shocking to have lost a young life so abruptly.)

Phew! Just typing it all makes me want to take a nap.

How have you been lately? Did you miss me? :-)

7 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. Glad to hear things are going well!!! You are a super adorable pregnant lady, and it’s awesome that you are still rocking CrossFit!
    Prayers for B’s friend and their family. How sad :(

  2. I just read your story at My Food Fitness Diaries and it made me so happy to read. Congrats on your pregnancy – that is so exciting!!! I hope you’re feeling great! I’m pregnant right now too and just enjoying the journey :)

  3. I just found your blog through your post on Ashley’s page. It is true, people do not know what NOT to say to pregnant people. I also dislike when those words come from people who have been pregnant. My sis in law just mentioned how big I was on the weekend in comparison to someone she knows that is basically the same week I am – cue big scowl on my face! I think we are due relatively the same time! I’m mid september (as I got that big positive a few days after new years too!)

What do you think?

