The Details

It’s such a relief to finally be out in the open with our BIG news! As you know, this is something we’ve been anticipating for the past nine months or so. It seemed like getting pregnant was going to be such a challenge for us. Little did I know that the week I wrote this post about my latest doctor’s appointments was the week a tiny little egg was implanting itself in my uterus. And the day I wrote this one about my anxiety over our fertility issues, I was about four weeks pregnant.

Over the holidays, I was highly anticipating my next doctor’s appointment, scheduled for January 3rd. I was set to have an ultrasound where they would check for issues that could be causing my body not to have a cycle. I knew one of the questions they would ask me at the appointment was, “Are you sure you’re not pregnant?” and I would laugh and say, “No! Not possible!” But, on the morning of January 2nd, I decided to take a pregnancy test so I could back up my reply with some evidence.

B was at work, and I was puttering around the house, being lazy, as it was my winter break. Midway through the morning, I took the test, then laid it upside down on the bathroom counter to wait out the three minutes. I started some laundry, let the dogs out, and then sat down to read some blogs. About fifteen minutes later, I remember the pee stick on the counter. I walked into the bathroom and simultaneously turned it over while moving it toward the trashcan, when something caught my eye. There were two lines. There were two lines. Two lines.

I immediately pulled the instructions out of the trash. Was this brand different than others I’ve used? Does two lines mean not pregnant? No, two lines = pregnant. Pregnant. That’s what I want to be, right? That would mean yes, I am pregnant, right?! Is my brain playing tricks on me?! Am I seeing things?! I proceeded to read the instructions about seventeen more times. Hold on, it says here to wait three minutes before reading, but no more than five. Clearly, I had waited too long. This test was inaccurate because I’d forgotten about it. Good thing these sticks come in packs on three.

Hands shaking (which made the testing process infinitely harder), I peed on a second stick. This time I set a timer. And I sat on the edge of the tub, anxiously awaiting the three minutes to pass. When my iPhone chirped, I flipped it over. Two lines. Again. Suddenly, my whole body was shaking, and I was laughing. Laughing? Uh-huh. I walked around the house saying, “Ohmygosh, ohmygosh, ohmygosh.” Suddenly, things made so much more sense. My boobs weren’t getting bigger because of all the CrossFit muscles. There was a reason I’d fallen asleep during our mid-afternoon movie date. And this was why coffee had suddenly become the most revolting thing to me.

After about five minutes of wandering and pondering, I picked up my phone. I was set to meet my  mom for lunch in about an hour, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep my lips sealed. So, I called B: “Hey, wanna come to lunch with me and my mom?” I said as casually as I could. “Sure!” he said. Then, I called my dad, because I didn’t want him to be left out of the excitement, “Hey Dad! Me, mom, and B are going to lunch at Panera soon. Wanna join us?” “Golly, that’d be neato!” he said (or something equally dorky–just kidding, love you, Dad!).

But then I got to thinking… I should probably tell B privately, as in not in front of my parents. Gosh, I’d always envisioned some super-cute Pinteresty way of informing him he was going to be a daddy. Visions of Aunt Becky and Uncle Jesse’s “baby” themed food filled my head. Instead, I called B, and we had this conversation:

Me: “Hey babe! I’m gonna need you to come home, like, immediately.”
B: “Uh… Aren’t we about to go to lunch?”
Me: “Yup! I’m gonna need you to come home first.”
B: (probably thinking that Panera is about five minutes from his office, and home is about 20 minutes away) “I’m not sure I can do both, babe.”
Me: “Well, you’re just gonna need to make that work.”

I’m pretty sure it took B fourteen hours to get home. In the meantime, I tried calling both of my best friends but neither of them answered their phones. Finally, he pulled in the driveway. I grabbed my two pee sticks and hid them behind my back. He walked in. “I really wanted to come up with a fun way to tell you this, but I couldn’t think of anything, and I’m just so excited!” I said in a squeaky/shaky voice, holding up the pee sticks. His face lit up and we hugged and hugged and hugged. Then, he said the perfect thing: “I bought apples!”

Since then, everything has been a whirlwind of naps, food cravings, nausea, and hair-ties holding my pants together. We had an early ultrasound to determine how far along I am, and saw that so far Baby Hearn looks like a little gummi bear (but has a strong heartbeat of 145!). Since we had that reassurance, and everything looked good at my first appointment, we decided to make our announcement a little early. I know most people wait until the end of the first trimester, but I have been bursting at the seams (literally and figuratively), and I really wanted to share our good news. I finally decided that we would make the big announcement in my 10th week (it ended up being the beginning of my 10th week, but still!).

Week 8 One

A couple weeks ago (the same day we took the pictures for our announcement photos, hence the identical outfits). My plan is to take progress pics every two weeks throughout the pregnancy.

Week 8 Two

Although there’s not an actually baby bump there yet, I am bloated enough to make me look about six months pregnant some days.

Week 8 Brandon

When I took this picture of the excited Dad-to-be, he told me that it was quote: “hard for him to pooch out his stomach.” I told him that might not be quite the right thing to say to your pregnant wife who can no longer button any of her pants.

Oh! I almost forgot to tell you all the best part! My due date is… September 8th. Which should sound familiar, because it is also my birthday. I know most babies don’t come on their due date, but it’s fun to think I’ll receive the best b-day gift in the world this year.

12 thoughts on “The Details

  1. Congrats! I am very excited for you!! Your pregnancy makes me a bit nervous though… I have been about one year behind you in all the big life steps. You started teaching a year before me, you got married the June before me, last year, you bought a house and we are currently looking :) Enjoy these next few months preparing for the little one!

  2. Our third (Joe) was due on my birthday which was really fun to contemplate! He ended up being born a month early, though, so be prepared for anything! His sister was 5 days late and his brother was 2 weeks late, just in case I thought I was ever in control of anything :). CONGRATS, you will be great parents!

    • Since Brandon’s birthday is just 2 weeks before mine, it’s funny to think that all three Hearn birthdays will be in such a short timespan, even if Baby isn’t born on his/her due date.

      Thanks for the congratulations!

  3. I’m a little late commenting as I haven’t been on my computer for over a week, but CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I am so happy to hear that things are finally going your way! Awesome news and good luck with the rest of your pregnancy!

What do you think?

